Sunday, September 17, 2006

Alor Setar or Alor Star

Kedah - Land area of 9,426 sq. kilometres with over 100 islands. It shares a border with the states of Perlis, Penang (Pulau Pinang) and Perak and its northern and north-eastern boundary is the Malaysia-Thai border. There are 11 administrative districts with it own district centres in Kedah. Alor Star (sometimes spelt Alor Setar), the state capital, has a population of about 250,000 (the correct spelling is Alor Star).

Alor Star became capital in 18th century under the reign of 19th sultan, Sultan Muhammad Jiwa Zainal Adilin Muazzam Shah. The town was originally called Kota Setar until 1943 when it was changed to Alor Star. Alor Star is the administrative capital and seat of the state government and legislative assembly. Located here are the government departments, royal palaces, many heritage buildings, museums and cultural centres.....more at
My Kedah page

Learn about Kedah and Penang from myPenang

No comments:

Check this out